How to fix your 3G USB stick in Snow Leopard

31Aug09
Hi there! This blog has moved to http://blog.programmanstalt.de.

Click here to read the article: http://blog.programmanstalt.de/articles/how-to-fix-your-3g-umts-usb-stick-in-snow-leopard/

Please update your links — thanks!



10 Responses to “How to fix your 3G USB stick in Snow Leopard”

  1. 1 Benne

    Wo gibst du dort die APN ein und wo die Pin?

    • 2 Jan

      PIN ist eine gute Frage – ich habe meine noch unter Leopard deaktiviert. Sorry, keine Ahnung.

      Einen APN musste ich gar nicht setzen, was mich auch etwas verwundert hat; möglicherweise gibt es unterschiedliche Treiber für unterschiedliche Provider, denn andere schreiben, sie hätten die APN-Einstellungen unter dem “Advanced”-Button.

  2. You’ve just saved my sanity. Thank you thank you thank you thank you thank you!

    • 4 Jan

      I’m glad to hear it worked for you! I figured my own sanity was a high enough price already, so I’d spare others the same fate :)

    • 5 Jan

      P.S. – lovely mail address! Didn’t catch that at first.

  3. 6 Martin Porter

    Just to let you know that this process worked great for me!
    Don’t know if it was the terminal commands (Never dabbled with terminal before,) but when I got the advanced settings in the network preferences, I noticed that mine were all different. Swapped them over and everything connected first time!

    I’ll be sure to let people know where I found the fix ;-)

    Now I just need to find out if I can switch back to 64 bit operations as well?

    Thanks!!!

    Martin

    • 7 Martin Porter

      Nope. 64 Bit operations don’t recognise the E170 stick! Got the same message as before, thought I’d undone all of the good work!!

      Oh well, I’ll have to wait a bit longer before I can make the full switch.

      Martin

      • 8 Jan

        Can you tell me a little bit more about what you’re trying to achieve? I’m not quite sure where you are going at the moment..

        The topic of “32 bit vs. 64 bit” in Snow Leopard isn’t as clear cut as the glossy marketing brochures make it seem. Most likely, your Mac isn’t running in full 64 bit anyway; to the best of my knowledge, only Apples Xserve servers get the full 64 bit setup at the moment.

        Take a look at A Hat full of sky – there’s a lot of great information on this topic, as well as a nice, downloadable program that tells you which mode(s) your Mac is actually running in.


  1. 1 How to fix your 3G USB stick in Snow Leopard | Mac Affinity
  2. 2 Pottblog